Demanding – much!

It’s been a bit over a week since my parents went vacationing to Europe and its a bit more than a week till they’re due back.

And who is taking this the worst? Bacardy!! Coming to think of it, his life is pretty much the same; same food, same bed, same house, same routine. As opposed to ours of course which is pretty depressing without them!

But he seems to have the entire world on this forehead the second we do not give him 100% attention. I suppose this is because my mother dotes on him 110% of the time and since she is a stay-at-home mum, this makes a big difference to Bacardy. Sure we pet him and give him extra cuddle and behind-the-ear stroking time, but I suppose he misses her.

Our adoptive african grey “Paulie” is not making the situation any better since she keeps calling my parents which makes Bacardy prick his ears and look around! Sigh.

However much depressed I am about how depressed he is, I will not indulge myself into too much of web research.

http://pets.webmd.com/dogs/features/depression-in-dogs

http://www.aboutsmalldogbreeds.com/boston-terrier-dogs.html

http://www.aboutsmalldogbreeds.com/dog-separation-anxiety.html

These three are seriously enough. I don’t agree with some things that they say of course.

DON’T make a fuss about leaving.  For a good 10 minutes before you depart, ignore your dog, and calmly leave.  Don’t talk to your dog, do not acknowledge him at all.

When you return after just a few seconds, do not talk to your dog, ignore him completely for several minutes and certainly until your dog has calmed down and is not jumping up or barking.

Gradually increase your absence by just a few seconds at a time. Continue to not make any fuss about leaving, and no fuss when you return.

Nope, no can do! No can do At All!

I didn’t take any photos of him this week since he’s been having his “I’m the saddest dog in the world (although my siblings are compensating the situation with cheese and all my treats)” look pasted onto his cure little face.

Leave a Reply

